Steve’s Media Blog

Archive for September 9th, 2008

Sept 4

I haven’t made any progress with regards to the “Funkmobile” project – haven’t even started any work at all, actually.  That’s alright – plenty of time for that one.

Some new stuff I’ve heard though.  Hawksley Workman came out with a new album last week.  I bought it on itunes, and I was pretty damned pleased.  It’s more of a rock/alternative album than “Between the Beautifuls”, which I guess explains why he’s got a second album out within a year of the last one.

Other things: I have a long list of music floating around in my head to download (or buy, I do have that $10).  So here’s the list from what I remember:

  • Blink 182 (anything I guess)
  • Sum 41 (select songs…we’ll see)
  • Rheostatics (or is it Reostatics?  I don’t know)
  • Two Hours Traffic – “Little Jabs”

So far, that’s it.

There’s an mp3 on the “Hero Hill” blog I want to listen to.  I forget why, but it will determine, I suppose, if I want to hear more.

Oh and I just remembered I need to get Red Jumpsuit Apparatus from Mike, and look into the latest Offspring album.

* *

Sept 5

Is it a coincidence that after listening to Rae Spoon’s “Come On Forest Fire Burn The Disco Down” on Radio 3’s podcast yesterday, I’m reading a review on it today on Hero Hill?

It’s a pretty damn good song – and so were many of the tunes from R3’s Pride Podcast.  I’ll have to get a list of the tracks later.

I got a copy of the latest Offspring album, but I haven’t listened to it yet.  I’m more interested to find out about this other album I got:

“Americano: The Bluegrass Tribute to the Offspring”

I always love out-of-genre covers so I can’t wait to hear this one.  Add the fact that it’s The Offspring covered in Bluegrass and I think I found a winner.

Will post later tonight what I think of it (hint: it’s great).

Sweet song from CBC Radio 3 Podcast #151.  It’s called “Shoulder Pads & Shiny Shoes” by A.M.  It’s really nifty.

Pretty sure I won’t find that Genesis cover any time soon, and the only way I’ll get that song by A.M. is by editing it out of the CBC3 podcast.  Which I should do tonight, why not?  Because I’m having issues with Adobe Audition, that’s why not.

Edit: if it’s on itunes I can get it there.  Still have $10 to blow.

* *

August 12

Got a great idea for a playlist and I don’t know why I didn’t geti t before.  Was listening to Rick James “Bustin Out” and the idea came to me: Funkmobile.  I don’t think I should say anymore. (Edit: haven’t worked on it yet.)

I checked out the Hero Hill blog this morning and was pointed to Revival Dear.  Honestly I skimmed through the review and it was the picture that led me to take a listen.  Good stuff, I’ll have to find their CD.

And an update on Catherine MacLellan (mentioned in my previous post of music I’m looking for).  I found a copy of her CD through the CD Warehouse website.  They don’t seem to have Revival Dear – but I found that at HMV (online only though, they don’t have it in stores).

August 6, 2008

I have a bunch of songs from the long weekend to copy from my phone but first I wanted to write down “Hot Blooded” by Foreigner (edit: who knows why, though!).

I’m going to be making a new road trip mix and I like these songs for it:

  • Sugar Hill Gang – “Rapper’s Delight”
  • Some country cover of Genesis’ “That’s All” (edit: still haven’t figured out the artist behind that one)
  • Rick James – “Superfreak”
  • V.I.C. “Get Silly”
  • Chamillionaire “Ridin Dirty”
  • R. Kelly “Ignition”

And a note, some shows I see coming up at Zaphod’s:

Chad Van Galen – Wed Oct 2

Fembots – Sat Oct 4

Apostle of Hustle – Sat Nov 8

I also forgot Iggy Pop’s “Lust for Life” and Pussycat Dolls “When I Grow Up” on that list.


Date Indicator

September 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Donate for Karma!

Donate through PayPal as little as $0 or as much as you feel comfortable. Trust me, it will be greatly appreciated!