Steve’s Media Blog

My Taste in Music

Posted on: September 11, 2008

I was thinking this morning about my taste in music, and how it’s evolved over the years.  This was sparked mainly when “Now That You Got It” by Gwen Stefani popped up in a playlist this morning.  It’s a song I know I had (it’s on the “Sweet Escape” album), but didn’t really listen to it on a regular basis (read: at all).  I enjoyed it.

When I was younger though, my music library consisted largely of Our Lady Peace anD Oasis albums.  Before that I would listen to my brother’s early 90’s dance music tapes while we played with Lego (I still have a fondness for some C+C).  A little later, classic rock was added to the mix, and I listened to that stuff exclusively.

To put it in perspective, when I was in my second year of university Gwen Stefani came out with her first solo album.  Being a fan of No Doubt as it was, I thought I’d check it out.  A friend told me I probably wouldn’t like it – it wasn’t really my style.  Turns out, at the time, she was right.  I didn’t like it and I promptly deleted the album off the computer.

The next year I was in college for radio broadcasting.  The station we ran there was an alternative/hip hop format.  We also had an internet station that was purely hit pop music.  Already I was being introduced to new music.  I don’t know if it was the whole notion of the profs telling us to open up our horizons or if I just realized there was good music out there beyond my normal scope, but something happened and I find I enjoy several different types of music.

In general, I like music I can get into.  Either it has nice lyrics, or a catchy beat – whatever the quality, if I like it, it doesn’t matter what genre.  Even country has a place in my library (my limits for that one were pushed when I worked for a country radio station).  So that’s why my library has everything – from Pussycat Dolls to Carrie Underwood (I’m pretty sure I was blasting “I Don’t Need A Man” in the car yesterday).  Not just to make sure party music is varied, but for my own enjoyment.  My girlfriend has also recently introduced me to a lot of new songs that I probably never would have listened to before.

Just thought I would share my taste in music.

Leave a Reply

