Steve’s Media Blog

Tragically Comic

Posted on: October 8, 2008

Edit: Apparently I crossed “ASR” with “ASW” several times in this post.  Woops.  Fixed.

“Tragic” is certainly the right word to describe the online comic “Tragically Comic“.  It almost pains me to even link to it, but it wouldn’t be fair NOT to.  What’s tragic is that the author probably thinks he (or she?  I’m not sure) is being original and clever and unique (and to make things easier for me, I will assume “he”).

Unfortunately, he is not aware of the wonderful “A Softer World“.  Emily Horne and Joey Comeau have been doing their thing for a very long time – I don’t actually know in fact, but here is their first ever comic; they are now up to 361.

I don’t know if Mr. Gaitan was aware of ASW or not, but my thinking is “yes he was”.  The comics I read (his short archive goes back to July 2008) all mimic ASW’s style, though the art is really not as good.  Neither is the writing, but he does try.

I’m not really sure what the intention is with regards to this comic, but my intention is this: if you stumble upon Tragically Comic and think that it is a genius website and must tell everyone – STOP.  Tell everyone about A Softer World instead.

1 Response to "Tragically Comic"

Leave a Reply

