Steve’s Media Blog

403 Forbidden

Posted on: October 9, 2008

So I mentioned yesterday the website “Tragically Comic”.  Apparently, the tragedy was not that it was a pale shadow of “A Softer World” (more like a terrible knock off), but that his site is shut down.  Sometimes I enjoy 403 errors; though I would encourage the fellow behind Tragically Comic to continue in his artistic endeavours, just not as blatant rips of existing work.

403 Forbidden

403 Forbidden

On a lighter tone, I meant to bring this to everyone’s attention yesterday, however I completely forgot (and am furthering the “bad brother” label here).  My brother’s band, Capital Grass and the No Men – which is a good band, please ignore any bias – was playing last night at Toronto’s C’est What club.  I meant to tell people about that, and I forgot.  Wow I’m thick-headed.

Anyway what I thought was cool was that they streamed the show online!  Apparently they do this for all the shows, so if you can’t make it to Toronto you can still listen in online.  I think this could be something more clubs should do; sure you run the risk of people listening to free live shows but I think that point is moot since it’s hard to top the appeal of every aspect of a show – including visual.  You could probably make up any lost door revenue with ads anyway.

It’s probably not an expensive set up, and a great marketing tool.  I think the only bar in Ottawa – that I know of – that comes close to streaming live is the Live Lounge, where I believe they record every show and provide the bands with a CD.  I could be wrong but I hope I’m not, that is really a sweet deal.

Leave a Reply

