Steve’s Media Blog

SonicSwap & Mr. Bump

Posted on: October 10, 2008

I was pointed to this neat thing by Lifehacker: SonicSwap.  It is a tool that lets you stream your iTunes playlists from your computer for others to hear.  Here’s the kicker, though; something like that sounds illegal, right?  Not so with SonicSwap.  The service doesn’t actually host your music, so it is pretty darned legal.  Well it sounds good in theory, that is, until you realize it pulls music from YouTube.  The chances of all of your music being on YouTube is probably pretty low (and actually, just because it’s on YouTube doesn’t mean it’s legal).

I read through the comments and found some suggestions for Simplify Media.  This service looks like it lets you stream your music to people you choose.  I haven’t had the chance to test it out for various reasons: I’m at work, my computer’s network driver won’t work at the moment due to a reinstall of XP, and I don’t have anyone to stream to.  I do want to look into this though and will follow up with a review if I can get it to work.

On a side note, there really isn’t a lot of Mr. Men wallpapers out there.  I had to make my own Mr. Bump desktop wallpaper, inspired by a Mr. Men calendar I picked up last night.  Here’s what I came up with: something simple but it will work as my wallpaper when I get home.  Feel free to download and use if you are so inclined.  I will freely admit to taking the original image from google image search anyway, so no worries!

Mr. Bump

Mr. Bump

Leave a Reply

