Steve’s Media Blog

Blog Action Day

Posted on: October 15, 2008

This is something that flew completely under my radar: Blog Action Day.  I will be honest, had I known about it ahead of time today I still probably wouldn’t have written a post specifically for it.  It’s not that I don’t dislike poverty (the subject of this year’s Blog Action Day), it’s that I wouldn’t have a clue where to start writing about it.  Well, hang on there.  Right now I don’t have a clue.  I guess if I thought about it ahead of time and put some research into it, I would probably have a post written up.

So, instead, I’ll write about the event itself (and yes, the realization that just blogging about it will help raise awareness is dawning on me now).  This was started only last year as a way of presenting an issue from several (thousand) different perspectives and bringing it to the general public’s attention.  In short, generate world-wide discussion and, hopefully, action about it in the world.

I think it’s a great idea.  Here is a great post that I was linked to earlier, and is on the Blog Action Day website.

3 Responses to "Blog Action Day"

At least you had the balls to admit you didn’t really know what was going on or what you could do. I’ve read a lot of blogs today that are very cookie cutter on “what I could do…” and not what is actually being done. Also, a lot of posts seem to be about food, which is only one aspect of poverty. A lot of focus should be put on education and living conditions. Do a Google Blogsearch for “Blog Action Day” – you’ll find 127,000+ articles that will help you get more informed.

[…] Home Blog Action Day […]

[…] Blog Action Day « Steve’s Media Blog […]

Leave a Reply

