Steve’s Media Blog

Memes

Posted on: October 16, 2008

Image from CNet

Image from CNet - click to see top ten memes

The whole Blog Action Day thing yesterday reminded me of a concept on the Internet that I really like: Internet memes.  Not all memes, mind you (I really HATE “lol cats” – and I’m not linking to them – as well as “blah blah blah is made of win”), but memes in general.  It sort of goes hand-in-hand with what I was talking about yesterday; that the Internet community (as global as it is) has real power in communicating ideas.

Most of the time, Internet memes end up being something simple that everybody (or mostly everybody, at least) finds funny.  An idea works and people latch on to it because they like it.  Sometimes it’s something like Blog Action Day – someone decides to start something a little more meaningful and others follow suit.  Usually something like that starts within a close-knit community.  Case in point, the PFBs.

I started following blogs with Google Reader when I stumbled across the Personal Finance Bloggers community.  I was looking for some kind of direction with my own finances and found a group of people who were either in a similar situation or had been there before.  They do all sorts of cool things that I hadn’t come across before – a “personal finance carnival” where they round up the best posts of the week/month, a monthly blogging topic, and so forth.  They work together and I would consider some of the stuff they do to be Internet memes.

Sometimes I wish I could do something like that.  Other times, I wouldn’t mind even getting something silly to catch on.  So with that in mind, I’ll go for something silly.

Next week, I’m going to make a blog post in my own handwriting and scan it in.  I don’t know if that’s been done before, but I’ll just hope it catches on somehow.

Leave a Reply

