Steve’s Media Blog

Free Music!

Posted on: October 29, 2008

Music Pirate

Music Pirate

Okay, I will admit that my title today is a bit of a dirty trick.  But it’s not entirely misleading, since I am talking about free music – as in, where to get it.  This post was precipitated by Lifehacker‘s recent blog post about how to save money by getting free mp3’s – the post itself has some good ideas at heart, but is basically promoting piracy.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that nobody is a music pirate or that I think that’s the only way to get music.  Seriously, we live in the Internet age; I’m sure everybody is a pirate, at least a little bit.

I’ve gotten a little sidetracked though.  While the Lifehacker post was essentially about finding free, mainstream music (and I don’t recommend using a google search anymore, as is pointed out in the comments, you’re more likely to get to a scam site), there are plenty more resources for finding really good free music, legally.  Oh yeah, no question, it’ll be stuff from people you’ve never heard of before.  Ask yourself though: don’t you want to be one of those people who listened to so-and-so before they were top 40?  Maybe not, but don’t you at least want some cool music that you won’t hear on the radio?

I hope your answer is yes, because otherwise the rest of my post will be a disappointment.  Obviously, one of the easiest ways is to just browse myspace.  Not everything on there is good, or downloadable, but there are plenty of good bands to be found.  Some other options that may interest you, however, I only myself found out about today through some of the comments of that Lifehacker post:

  • http://music.download.com/ – this site is run by the fine folks at cnet.  Being at work I haven’t had the chance to take a good look through their collection, but it looks pretty extensive – and it even has some mainstream stuff.
  • ZW – This isn’t actually a place to download music, but has a list of places for downloading free music.  Again, I haven’t been able to look through the list/sites thoroughly, so tread carefully if you’re worried about legalities.
  • BestMP3Links – Again, another list of free resources, however this one seems to be more of the legal variety.

I’m going to do a follow-up post as I have a more extensive list of free music resources at home – I think I may have some bookmarked on del.icio.us but I’d still need to come back and do a follow-up.

In the meantime, check out this well-written piece about DRM driving someone to piracy (you may have read it before).

Leave a Reply

