Steve’s Media Blog

Books, Books, Books!

Posted on: November 6, 2008

Image from book/daddy

Image from book/daddy

I received a nice comment from yesterday’s post from JRoller; I checked out his website (a book review blog) and found some nice listings there so it inspired me to do a post about books.  I talk about all the other media out there so I thought I’d give one of my old favourites a go.

Just a quick note though about JRoller’s Online Book Reviews though.  I took a closer look at the site and I like the concept.  Write a review, submit it, and it gets posted online.  If you have a website or a blog, you might get some extra traffic from it.  I think I might just write one myself!

Well first up is a book I found on JRoller’s blog: The Facebook Book.  I like it because it’s a book about a new media (social networking – not brand new I know, but I’m talking in the last 5 years new), and I always find it fun when there’s a new book about something that’s supposed to replace books.  I don’t mean social networking is supposed to replace books, but the Internet was supposed to.  I think publishing is still a very lucrative industry (I can’t find exact numbers but a 2006 Statistics Canada report pegs it at $235 million for Canada alone).

A book I finished reading not too long ago was The Game: Penetrating The Secret Society of Pickup Artists, by Neil Strauss.  I know, I know – what am I reading this for?  I’ve got a girlfriend I don’t need to pick up girls.  I actually picked this up because I enjoy a TV show called “Keys to the VIP” on the Comedy Network; it’s based on this book, and it is funny to watch.  What I enjoy about this book though is that it looks like a guide at first (it’s designed to look like the bible), but it is actually a compelling story about Strauss’ adventures learning this “trade”.

Other books pointed in my direction that I want to check out are A Random Walk Down Wall Street by Burton G. Malkiel, and The Wealthy Barber by David Chilton.  Both are recommended if you’re looking into investing for the first time – I look forward to finding them at the library.

At the moment I’m trying to finish reading Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader.  I’ve also got all the Harry Potter books to finish (I’m in the middle of Goblet of Fire – though I don’t know where my copy of it is).  I also got a free copy of Ted Rogers’ autobiography (you may have heard he was admitted to hospital; reports say he is doing better now), so I have that on my list as well.  I also want to check out the unauthorized biography, just as a second opinion.  That one is called Hire Wire Act: Ted Rogers and the Empire that Debt Built by Caroline Van Hasselt.

Some notes of interest, non-book related:

Teenager Changes His Name to Captain Fantastic Faster Than Superman Spiderman Batman Wolverine Hulk And The Flash Combined

Robert Johnson’s soul was up on ebay and sold for $60

Leave a Reply

