Steve’s Media Blog

The Joys of Ebay

Posted on: December 8, 2008

I sold a few video games in the last 1-2 weeks on ebay; usually, I have no issues with ebay whatsoever.  It’s fairly simple to use, and anything I’ve shipped has gotten to its destination within a reasonable amount of time.  That is, until now!

I sold one of my video games to some woman in the US; of course, Canada Post happens to be on strike at the moment, but they are still saying mail will be delivered.  Fine, I told everyone I sold to that there could be delays due to the strike despite assurances to the public.

Now, her game hasn’t arrived yet, and her last inquiry last week was on the 8th business day after I shipped it.  I would also be a little weary about things at that point, but usually the expectation with a lot of things is 7-10 business days (which is Monday-Friday).

I told her last Friday (Dec 5) that if it hasn’t arrived yet on Tuesday (the 10th business day), I would refund her shipping costs.  She agreed to this.

Guess what I got in my inbox today?  A Paypal dispute!  Apparently, she wants a full refund on her item if I don’t provide a tracking number / proof of shipment.  Well, I can provide proof of shipment with the receipt I got, but that’s it.  At this point, I’ve told her to not expect a refund at this time since we had an agreement based on the results of TUESDAY.

Maybe she’s forgotten what day of the week it is – not entirely sure.  Either way, I feel like the victim here, and she’s not.  I can only provide proof that I’ve shipped the item, but she could be making this all up and has it already and is just trying to get her money back.  I’ve never been on that end of an ebay scam, but from what I know it’s hard to prove that they got their item safe and sound.

Whatever happens though, the most I’m refunding is shipping.  I sent the item, and I have proof; if she didn’t get it, it’s a beef with either Canada Post, customs, or the US Postal Service.  I think I’m in good shape though: I have an agreement from her about a shipping refund, and I have proof of shipping.

I wonder, anyone else run afowl with ebay before?

1 Response to "The Joys of Ebay"

[…] Steve wrote an interesting post today onThe Joys of EbayHere’s a quick excerptI sold one of my video games to some woman in the US; of course, Canada Post happens to be on strike at the moment, but they are still saying mail will be delivered. Fine, I told everyone I sold to that there could be delays due to the … […]

Leave a Reply

