Steve’s Media Blog

Review: Britney Spears – Circus

Posted on: December 11, 2008

I decided to review Britney Spears’ latest album, Circus, because I was genuinely curious about what it sounded like.  Plus, it’s streamed for free over at ArtistDirect.  To spell out what it is I’m saying, I’m reviewing it because I didn’t have to spend a dime to hear a Britney Spears album.

I should have expected it to be what it is: heavily-produced pop.  That’s basically what Britney is all about, and has been all about, since day one; I’m not intimately familiar with her earlier albums, but from the songs my girlfriend has on her ipod, it is all the same sort of stuff.  I mean, the music itself is different but it’s all heavily-produced.

That said, she is able to crank out some decent-quality stuff.  This album definitely isn’t a top album of 2008 material CD, but put it in the “heavily-produced pop” category and it shoots right up there.  All of the tracks on here, or at least the majority of them, are engineered to be hits.  Not all of them will be, but I guess it would be rather silly for someone to produce an album with the hopes that none of the songs will be in the top of the top 40.

Womanizer is obviously the “flagship” single for the album, and it’s probably the best track on there.  The only other song that’s jumped out at me at being listenable and enjoyable is Radar but you don’t get to that one until the end of the album.  I’m going to go ahead and guess that Radar will be the next single off the album; I’m usually able to pick them out before I read/hear about it, but I am also occasionally wrong.  Though it could be slotted at #3 behind Circus.

I will rate this album an arbitrary 3 out of 5.  It’s decent enough if you’re looking for some light pop.

** Side Note ** I wanted to include a copy of the album art, but google images can’t find one!  Weird.

2 Responses to "Review: Britney Spears – Circus"

[…] be more proud. Britney Spears – Circus (Director's Cut)CLICK ON THE IMAGE TO DOWNLOAD.Review: Britney Spears – CircusI decided to review Britney Spears’ latest album, Circus, because I was genuinely curious […]

[…] of release. Billboard notes that it makes her the first act with four albums to sell 500000 or more Review: Britney Spears – CircusI decided to review Britney Spears’ latest album, Circus, because I was genuinely curious […]

Leave a Reply

