Steve’s Media Blog

Basic Website Design

Posted on: January 5, 2009

I used to put together a lot of websites – not all of them very good, mind you, but for a teenager in high school they were fairly decent.  I think they were exceptional for the actual amount of design talent that I possess.

Lately I haven’t been into it too much – there are a lot of developments out there now that are way above my head: php (though I tried jumping into that briefly – it’s something I’ll reconsider later but for now I’ll leave it), CSS, xhtml, and whatever other acronym you can think of.

But I decided that I need a better personal web space.  Right now, I have this site, which is about as simple as you can get.  It used to be a site for my resume, but I was made aware earlier this year that company policy doesn’t allow us to post anywhere online saying what company we work for.

I’m really getting off-topic here though: I’m trying to talk about a website that offers a really easy-to-read essay about basic elements of web design.  It’s not a tutorial, though it has links to different resources throughout.  It definitely changed my opinion on web design and how I’m going to go about putting together my next project.

Take a look through the article “Why tables for layout is stupid: problems defined, solutions offered”.  If you’re a web designer, perhaps it might serve to open your eyes a little; it opened mine, for sure!

Leave a Reply

