Steve’s Media Blog

Alternative to Google Notebook: TiddlyWiki

Posted on: January 15, 2009

I just learned today that Google plans to stop supporting Notebook.  This saddens me a little, because I like using Notebook – it’s useful for copying down notes of what I want to blog about.  They suggest using GoogleDocs among other Google programs, but what they’re saying is you have to spread out your information rather than having it in one spot (Notebook).

Lifehacker ran an article today about options beyond Notebook – because in all likelihood, Notebook will be shut down.  I don’t know if you’ve noticed but it doesn’t even appear on the default “more” menu, but it used to.

An alternative mentioned was something I never heard of before: TiddlyWiki.  It’s a one-file HTML document (near as I can tell) that can be viewed on what seems like any platform imagineable, and it’s very easy to edit.  It looks really neat, and it’s fun to play with.

All you need to do to edit an entry is double click.  You can even edit TiddlyWiki’s site, though I would guess that you need permission to do that.  Still, it’s something you can have fun with.

I haven’t had the chance to play around with my own copy, but I will later tonight.  This actually looks to be a slightly better tool than Notebook, but that remains to be seen.

Just a note: while Google is ending sign-ups to Notebook, you can still access it if you already use it.  It’s probably a matter of time before it’s taken down, though.

Leave a Reply

