Steve’s Media Blog

A Slice of My Sunday Nights

Posted on: January 20, 2009

I’m not usually a fan of reality TV shows (unless we’re talking American Gladiators, here), but a certain TV channel has “sliced” its way into my Sunday nights.  Okay if that wasn’t obvious enough, I’m talking about Slice.  I don’t know too much about the channel other than the fact that it seems to be all about showing shows about life in general – a lot of weight loss programs, some food programs, and money-related shows.  And yes, I do know at least that Slice is geared to women, but when you’re living with a girlfriend, you have to give if you want to watch man shows ;)

Anyway Sunday nights seem to be the night I spend the most time watching it.  Man, I remember when Sunday nights was devoted to The Simpsons (and then later to no TV at all, thanks to road hockey in the summer).  But I digress.  Here’s the line-up, and a bit about each show.

  • Rich Bride/Poor Bride.  I’m still not 100% sure of the premise, but basically the show follows a couple planning their wedding and their ups and downs as they figure out what they have a budget for.  I get a kick mostly out of how ridiculous the bride’s demands are (“I have to have fireworks for a grand entrance!!!!!”)
  • Til Debt Do Us Part.  Probably my favourite show of the night, and also likely the most well-known of the bunch.  Gail Vaz-Oxlade (I think that’s how you spell it) takes over the finances for a floundering couple and tries to right their ship.  The couple has to do three challenges over the course of the month in order to get up to $5,000 toward paying off their debt (and they usually get another little gift from Gail).
  • Wedding SOS.  Again another wedding show, but this one is a little more interesting than the other one.  A British wedding planner grants a couple three wishes to get their wedding in order, and usually turns some pretty pathetic wedding plans into something really cool.  The work she’s able to do in short notice is also pretty amazing.
  • At The End of My Leash.  My second favourite program.  It’s all about the dogs in this one; dog trainer Brad Pattison repairs relationships through dogs as he takes poorly behaved pets and turns them into something slightly more respectable.  The results he gets are almost unreal – and I wish this show was 60 minutes rather than 30.
  • Spoiled Rotten.  We don’t watch this every night, but on occasion.  Basically a rich, spoiled family is brought down to earth, usually working on some kind of farm, and they get taught family values and learn to earn their worth.

It’s like I said, sure two of the four shows I listed are definitely girl shows, the other two are pretty cool too.  I do enjoy the wedding shows a little bit, but again like I said, it gives me some leeway in watching shows like Stargage Atlantis (though that’s done), or Dexter or Battlestar Galactica.  Give and take ;)

Links for Today:

1 Response to "A Slice of My Sunday Nights"

Hi there,
Interesting blog, I just stumbled on it and I’m already a fan
I hope it’s not too brash but I have just started documenting
my own weight loss(I shed 30 pounds in a month, so I’m happy
, and I wanted to know if you could share
my diet for your blog readers.
My most recent blog post is
safe weight loss
If you would be willing to do a link trade
that would be excellent as I want to share my weight loss success
with everyone. If I can lose weight then
anyone else can too. Whatever you do, never give up and you WILL
achieve all your weight loss goals!
with kind regards,
Joan

Leave a Reply

