Steve’s Media Blog

What Happened to Crokinole?

Posted on: January 23, 2009

Crokinole Board

Crokinole Board

Growing up my brother and I would occasionally get out the old Crokinole board and have a game.  One of my best friends gets his family’s board out on a regular basis to this day and we also play occasionally.

Do people these days actually know about crokinole?  I’m leaning towards not – because even Wikipedia‘s picture of a Crokinole board is a computer simulation.  If you’re not familiar with the game, it’s played on a round board with little rounded discs.  The goal is to get your disc in the centre hole, or as close to it as possible.

It’s an entertaining game and I would wager beats out any video game in fun level.  Now I have no way of backing this up, but I assume that crokinole boards were easy to come by 15-20 years ago at a store like Canadian Tire.  Today?  Not even one result when you do a search.

I think to get one you either need to already own one, buy one off someone who wants to get rid of it, or go to an online dealer (yes, they exist!).  That really sucks, because I think Crokinole should be in everyone’s basement / rec room.

I am pleasantly surprised to know, however, that there is a Crokinole forum online.

3 Responses to "What Happened to Crokinole?"

It is back! check out http://www.worldcrokinole.com,
Toronto Crokinole Club site – torontocrokinoleclub.blogspot.com,
World Crokinole League – http://www.worldcrokinoleleague.com
and many many You Tube crokinole videos!

This game is highly rated at http://www.boardgamegeek.com. I have never seen it here in the UK though.

I’m not surprised, since the game’s roots are supposedly based in southern Ontario. I imagine there’s something similar to it in the UK though, isn’t there?

Leave a Reply

