Steve’s Media Blog

New Metric Album Coming Out

Posted on: February 18, 2009

Metric

Metric

Metric has a special place in my heart.  Not for any particular reason, I just like the band.  I’ve got both of their first two albums (2003’s Old World Underground, Where are you now? and 2005’s Live It Out), and I love them.  I had a chance to see them play on my birthday a few years ago but I decided to pass on it and celebrate somewhere else – big mistake, I assure you.  I still haven’t seen them live.

They’ve got a new album out April 14 called Fantasies, on the Last Gang label in Canada.  I’ve only heard one track from the album, Help, I’m Alive I thought it was a great track and really lives up to their previous work.  I’m really glad that it’s not coming out until April, because it means I can set aside money to pick it up.  There are a lot of albums I’ve skipped over but I will do my best not to skip this one.

I learned of a pre-order incentive from Chart Attack: pre-order Fantasies by March 2nd on Metric’s website and you’ll get a free mp3 copy of Help, I’m Alive.  Until then, check out their MySpace page to hear it now (it’s really great I promise).

Also check out their website for a cool, free acoustic version of Help, I’m Alive.

Here’s the track list (which is unfortunately a little on the short side but I’ll deal with it)

“Help I’m Alive”
“Sick Muse”
“Satellite Mind”
“Twilight Galaxy”
“Gold Guns Girls”
“Gimme Sympathy”
“Collect Call”
“Front Row”
“Blindness”
“Stadium Love”

Leave a Reply

