Steve’s Media Blog

Facebook Retracts New Terms of Service

Posted on: February 19, 2009

So here’s something that flew under my radar earlier this month: Facebook introduced a new Terms of Service agreement.  I didn’t hear anything about it, but apparently it produced a big hubbub from privacy rights activists (and probably produced ten more Facebook groups petitioning against Facebook’s ToS).

The basic point of the new ToS is that Facebook owns anything you upload to their servers, forever.  But thankfully, they’ve gone back on that decision and re-introduced the old Terms of Service.

I never really thought about the privacy issues with Facebook before – always just uploaded my photos and such with no worries.  I haven’t been uploading photos lately, but not because of privacy concerns – I just haven’t gotten around to it.  Plus, I feel that their photo uploading utility has become more bloated than it used to be, and is a big pain in the butt.

I think I’ll keep off any photos that I may want to try and sell (not many, but there are some) in the future, but I’m not going to worry too much about other photos.  I have Facebook to keep in touch with friends and family, so I don’t exactly want to shut it out completely.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

