Steve’s Media Blog

Short Review: Dinosaur Bones

Posted on: February 27, 2009

Dinosaur Bones

Dinosaur Bones

When I was a kid, dinosaurs were my favourite thing.  I even got this book made up for me by some friends/relatives that was all about me playing with dinosaurs – and that was the best book I ever had, I’m pretty sure.  I remember the highlight of one year was getting to sleep over at the museum among the dinosaur bones.  THAT was cool.  Anyway the point I’m getting to is that I still love dinosaurs.  Partly because they’re still cool (even though they’re not as popular as the late 80s/early 90s), but also because it’s a bit of nostalgia.

So I was immediately attracted to the group Dinosaur Bones.  When I first heard their lead single NYE on CBC 3’s podcast, I actually didn’t know they were called Dinosaur Bones.  I really liked the song, and after hearing the name of the band, it prompted me to check out the rest of their music.  The initial reaction was representative of what I feel about the rest of their music: I like it.

It’s not heavy rock at all, but it’s not too light either.  It’s a good mix between the two, and is very listenable (is that a word?).  I think my favourite track is still NYE, but their other offerings (such as Royalty) are about the same in quality level.

Imagine my pleasant surprise that they’re coming to Ottawa on April 10th!  That’s a Friday night, so I know I’m not busy that evening.  Really looking forward to it.  It’s at Cafe Deckuf, a venue I’ve been to only once.  It’s a small place, but it’s pretty cool.  Going to be living on the major bus route as of this weekend so getting there/back will be a breeze.

Definitely going to do my best to get to this concert!

Leave a Reply

