Steve’s Media Blog

April Fool’s

Posted on: April 1, 2009

No, I don’t have any jokes for anybody.  But I just wanted to talk about the apparent tradition of media outlets pranking the unsuspecting public.  I’m not really a big fan of it – well, that’s partially true.

I did get a kick out of a local radio morning show trying to suggest that a new bylaw would enforce bicycle licenses and various other things related with biking.  Some callers bought it and I got a laugh out of that.  I like the stories that are ridiculous enough to sound true, but you know they’re really not.  Although, in a city as crazy as Ottawa, sometimes it’s just downright hard to tell.

But that’s radio – there’s immediacy to it, and the DJs can say “April Fool’s!  All a joke!”  But try that in a newspaper…not as easy.  Unless you’re clever and able to somehow hide the words “April Fools” in the body of the article, it can be hard to tell what’s a joke and what’s not.  Especially if it’s believable.

I don’t know – I guess I just don’t like the idea of a reliable news source pulling a prank.  There are going to be plenty of other people playing jokes.

Leave a Reply

