Steve’s Media Blog

Renewed Focus

Posted on: April 22, 2009

I think my initial plan for this blog was to get noticed on a regional (if not national) scale, and have a popular blog that a lot of people read.  Well, I think I have a fair share of readers if I believe WordPress’ statistics, but I’m fairly certain no one links to this blog beyond myself.

But I’ve been reading a few articles here and there about blogging in general and did some thinking based on my own experiences in the last few months.  Here’s what I’ve come up with:

– It’s great if I can get people to read this, but I’m not going to worry about that as my main focus.  I’m just going to write what I write, on my own schedule.  I don’t have time to do regular updates anymore.

– I’m putting less focus on other blogs that I’ve started.  In fact I deleted a bunch of them just now.  I’m still going to keep my Stargate Universe blog because it’s so specific, but it’s on hold until that show launches in Canada.  I have a separate movie review blog that I started before this one, but I’ve never really updated that one on a regular basis in the first place.

– In summary, I’m not in the market to try and monetize blogs or make money online anymore.  I have other things I need to focus on without having to worry about blogs.

I’ll still be writing, so if you enjoy the blog, please keep reading! :)

Leave a Reply

