Steve’s Media Blog

Blockbuster Movie Season

Posted on: April 29, 2009

You know how they say April showers bring May flowers? That saying is accurate enough, but I think it’s more appropriate to say that April showers bring May blockbuster movies!!!!!!$$$$$

Starting with X-Men Origins: Wolverine, this summer is looking to be no different.  There are so many big ones that Wolverine flew completely below my radar.  Star Trek is the one that’s going to get the biggest attention from me, I think, because it’s always really cool to have a Trek picture on the big screen.  Even if it’s as terrible as Nemesis.

Here’s the list of major blockbusters coming out this year:

May 1: X-Men Origins: Wolverine

May 8:  Star Trek

May 15: Angels & Demons (sequel, I guess, to The DaVinci Code)

May 21: Terminator Salvation (hoping for the best, expecting mediocrity)

May 22: Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian (looking forward to this, liked the first one)

May 29: Drag Me To Hell (I believe this is a Sam Raimi horror picture, and it looks appropriately ridiculous)

June 24: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (did people really hate the first movie?  The one that was only supposed to be an action movie with a loose plot?  Really?  Definitely seeing this one)

July 1: Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs (there’s three of these already?)

July 15: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (gotta be among one of the bigger ones!)

August 7: G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra (okay seriously…why didn’t anyone tell me this was coming?)

August 14: The Time Traveler’s Wife (it’s got time travel, gotta be good)

August 28: Final Destination: Death Trip 3D (I don’t think this even needs a comment)

October 16: Where the Wild Things Are (I know, not technically a summer blockbuster, but a very big movie nonetheless)

October 23: Astro Boy (see above)

*sigh* my wallet will take a beating I think.

Leave a Reply

